The Seven Capital Sins – Abp. Fulton J. Sheen

In his book, The Seven Capital SinsArchbishop Fulton J. Sheen takes us on a Lenten journey through the seven capital sins of Pride, Envy, Wrath, Sloth, Covetousness, Gluttony, and Lust. He exposes not only the nature of these sins but shows how these sins are to be overcome by the seven last words of Jesus on the Cross. This Lenten Study is for six weeks.
(Lent 2015)

Seven Capital Sins – Envy, pt.1

In the theological sense, envy is not a type of jealousy or covetousness where we desire something that someone else has; rather envy is a sadness at another’s good (Aquinas), a love for the misfortune of a neighbor (Dante), or pain at the sight of good fortune (Aristotle).   
Read More

Seven Capital Sins – Lust, pt.2

Lust is defeated in sacrifice and in finding a higher love than the flesh. It is defeated in the words “Woman, behold your son . . . son, behold your mother.”
Read More

Seven Capital Sins – Pride, pt.1

Pride is the excessive belief in one’s own abilities that interferes with the individual’s recognition of the grace of God. It is traditionally seen as the sin from which all other sins arise for in Pride we put ourselves in the place of God. 
Read More